Grimms' Fairy Tales by The Brothers Grimm

a title from Prismatext

Grimms' Fairy Tales by The Brothers Grimm

$14.99 Sale Save

Learn hundreds of words in 16 languages!

Grimms' Fairy Tales, also known as Kinder- und Hausmärchen, is a collection of fairy tales by the German siblings Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm. The first edition of the book was published in 1812, and contained 86 stories. The brothers eventually ended the series having published seven editions totaling 200 fairy tales.

It would be difficult to understate the significance of the stories found within: many of them are familiar to households the world over, including Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Hansel and Gretel. Those, and many more, have directly inspired or been adapted into a number of works of popular culture, including TV shows and movies.

The Grimms' stories are notable for their focus on magic and the supernatural, as well as their dark and sometimes gruesome themes. Nevertheless, the stories remain timeless classics that continue to captivate readers of all ages.